Hiking Apps for Your Next Adventure!

Explore 52 of the best rail-trails and multiuse pathways across Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island All across the country, unused railroad corridors have been converted to public multiuse trails. In this official guide, the experts from Rails-to-Trails Conservancy present the best of these rail-trails, as well as other multiuse pathways, in Southern New England. Explore two Hall of Fame Rail-Trails: the Minuteman Bikeway, with its historical connections to the American Revolution, and the East Bay Bike Path, with its quintessential New England waterfront views. Discover paths that traverse the quiet woodlands of Connecticut and the charming communities of Rhode Island. Learn about ambitious trail projects across Massachusetts, like the Border to Boston Trail. Whether you're on feet, wheels, or skis, you'll love the variety in this collection of multiuse trails--from beautiful waterways and scenic areas to the hustle and bustle of the states' urban centers!

Available for the first time in vibrant full-color, this indispensable guide has been fully revised and updated to bring you 60 of the best day hikes in the Boston area. Whether you are an avid hiker or are looking for walks near the city, this book is a must-have resource for both day-long adventures and shorter outings. From the famed beaches of Cape Cod to the contemplative stillness of Walden Pond, to new hikes in Bradley Palmer State Park and Massasoit State Park, this new edition adds five brand new hikes to explore the eastern portion of Massachusetts in greater depth. Best Day Hikes near Boston, 3rd Edition, takes you on hikes in the Middlesex Fells and Blue Hills, the sands of Crane Beach, and the secluded forests of eastern Massachusetts. Both visitors and locals alike will find something to enjoy in this volume offering a variety of trails for all experience levels and interests. An at-a-glance trip planner highlights the best hikes near public transportation, as well as those for kids, dogs, and winter snowshoeing and skiing. With GPS coordinates for all trailheads, information on time, distance, and difficulty, as well as enriching essays about the area's natural and social history, this is the one-stop guide to the 60 best day hikes near Boston.

The official guide to the 141 miles of the Appalachian Trail between the Vermont and New York lines, paralleling the western borders of Massachusetts and Connecticut. This packaged product includes a new edition of the guidebook, in modern unidirectional format, with a set of four detached topographical maps (two sheets, printed on both sides), scaled atone inch:one milewith 100-foot contours and including elevation profiles, shelters and other features, and water sources. Features of the Massachusetts-Connecticut route include Mt. Greylock, the nearby towns of the Berkshires, and the river walks of western Connecticut. The range of the maps is from several miles into Vermont to about 20 miles into New York (reaching the train stop that connects hikers to Manhattan!) The book includes local history as well as background on trail landmarks.

In this first edition guide, Madeline Bilis shares her years of outdoors experience in the Boston area, providing 50 hikes for people of all skill and experience levels. Though the Berkshires get most of the attention from hiking guides, Eastern Massachusetts is a true gem, full of surprising treasures for lovers of the outdoors. From the rocky ledges of the Blue Hills Reservation to the sandy stretches of the Cape Cod National Seashore, incredible outdoor experiences abound in this overlooked region. In addition to gorgeous natural views, readers will delight in discovering the dozens of towns, cultural attractions, and historical sites throughout their adventures.

When you're looking for an Easy Walk that's just around the corner from where you live, this is a resource you'll turn to again and again. Accessibility and family-friendly options are included, and highlighted. Whether you hope for sweeping views, walks along ponds and streams, or even a good look at a working cranberry bog, there's something of interest on each trail. Fifty-three trails in fifteen contiguous towns offer great choices for a family-friendly outing. Discover lots of open trails that allow for friendly walks with family and/or friends; south central Massachusetts has so much to offer. So head on outdoors!

Explore the coastal preserves, tidal rivers, barrier beaches, and inland islands that make up the coastline from Newburyport, Massachusetts to Kennebunk, Maine, including the entire New Hampshire seashore. These 45 easy-to-moderate nature walks take beginner hikers, families, fitness walkers, and birdwatchers on rambles through soothing woodlands, strolls around historical lighthouses, walks through urban gardens, and even a climb up Mt. Agamenticus. Special features include: * detailed descriptions, including walking time and distance * detailed maps and driving/parking directions for each walk * easy-to-use highlights chart for trip planning * tips on where to view wildlife * anecdotes and history from local experts.

With 60 rural, suburban, and urban trails threading through 622 miles, Rail-Trails New England covers Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, and Connecticut. This two-color book includes succinct descriptions of each trail from start to finish, plus at-a-glance summary information indicating permitted uses, surface type, length, and directions to trailheads for each trail.Every trip has a detailed map that includes start and end points, trailheads, parking, restroom facilities, and other amenities.

The wilderness of New England is a gold mine for hikers, offering an abundance of rolling hills, mountains, jagged coastline, and lakes. Historic trails are well-worn into the New England landscape, inviting outdoor enthusiasts to undertake epic backpacking adventures or short, satisfying day hikes. This new guidebooks covers the best trails in six states, including hikes on the Appalachian Trail, the lush hills of Maine, the White Mountains of New Hampshire, the Long Trail in Vermont, theMassachusetts coast, the dense forests of Connecticut, and the wildlife sanctuaries of Rhode Island. Written by a New England native, this trails guidebook provides measured distances and times for each hike, as well as difficulty ratings, elevation gain, permitting information, and more. Follow along with authorJeff Romano on hisFacebook page to hear about the latest reviews, see images of hikes from the book, and tap into a wealth of knowledge regarding great hikes in New England!