The Morse Institute Library is committed to equity of access for all patrons. Overdue fines disproportionately affect low income families and those on fixed incomes. Eliminating overdue fines removes economic barriers and promotes equitable access to library services. Effective September 1, 2021 the Morse Institute Library will eliminate overdue fines for all MIL materials borrowed, excluding Speed Reads, Speed Views, and museum passes. All previous fines for overdue materials currently on patron accounts will be waived.
The library will continue to issue due date reminders as well as overdue notifications, and patrons still need to return their books in a timely manner. Borrowing privileges will be suspended if an item is not returned within 30 days after the due date and/or if fines/fees due on the account exceed the limit as set by the library as part of the Minuteman Network. The library will still charge fees for lost or damaged materials.
Overdue fines on other libraries' materials are not affected by this policy, so fines may accrue on items owned by other libraries. These fines may result in account privileges being suspended until the matter is resolved.
Approved by the Board of Trustees, Morse Institute Library, August 17th, 2021
Revised by the Board of Trustees, Morse Institute Library on November 15th, 2022
When does fine free begin?
Wednesday, September 1, 2021
Will overdue fines be waived on ALL materials?
No. Overdue fines have been eliminated on all Morse Institute Library materials, excluding Speed Reads, Speed Views, and museum passes. You may still accrue fines on items borrowed from other libraries in the network.
Why did the Morse Institute Library eliminate overdue fines?
Increased patron access: Overdue fines restrict access by blocking patrons with outstanding fines, and keeping some residents from using the library at all for fear of fines. Statistics show that in libraries where overdue fines are not charged, patrons of all ages continue to respect the fact that library books belong to all citizens and therefore returning them on time is an important civic duty.
Reduction of inequity: Families and individuals with limited or fixed incomes depend upon the materials that libraries offer and are disproportionately impacted by overdue fines. Patrons who are blocked typically stop using the Library, which does not support our mission.
Improved patron relationships with their library: Overdue fine elimination reduces potential anxiety and/or embarrassment associated with visiting the library and borrowing materials, and decreases negative staff-patron interactions. Research shows overdue fines do not ensure borrowed materials end up back on shelves. In fact, the same research shows that when overdue fines are eliminated, the number of library card holders increases and circulation of materials increases as well.
Increased staff efficiency and effectiveness: When library staff spend less time handling fine transactions, we have more time to help patrons find materials, get assistance with technology, and learn about library services and programs!
Why are there still fines for Speed Reads and Speed Views?
These special collections are the most current and requested items in our collection. The patron value in this collection lies in high turnover of each title. In order for more patrons to access these special collections, overdue fines of $1.00/day after the 1 week borrowing period remain in effect. Additional copies of all titles are also offered in our main collection and may be reserved and borrowed without overdue fine penalties.
How does the library get people to return borrowed materials without charging fines?
"No overdue fines" does not mean "no responsibility" Due dates still apply, and patrons owe it to other library users to bring materials back in a timely manner. When an item is 30 days overdue, it is assumed lost by the Library and a bill for the replacement cost is automatically generated. When a patron has fines/fees on their account that exceed predetermined library limits, their borrowing privileges are suspended until either the long-overdue items are returned, or the fines/fees are paid.
What if I misplaced an item and can't return it?
Although the Library eliminated overdue fines on most items, patrons are still responsible for any fines and fees associated with the replacement of lost or damaged library materials on their account. Under this new policy, it is important to understand the difference between overdue fines and replacement fees. Overdue fines are the daily charges applied to items not returned by their specified due date; these are the fines that will no longer be charged for most Morse Institute Library items. Replacement fees are applied to lost, damaged, or unreturned materials and are still in effect.
What is a replacement fee?
Any Morse Institute Library item that has been overdue for more than 30 days will be marked as lost, with a replacement fee added to your account, and your account will be blocked from further borrowing.
But good news! To remove a replacement fee from your account, all you have to do is return the overdue item. When Morse Institute Library verifies that the item is in good condition, and checks that item in, the replacement fee will be cleared from your account and you will be able to begin borrowing again.
How do I pay overdue fines and replacement fees?
You can pay library fines online with a credit or debit card. Your online payment is conducted via a secure transaction. We do not store credit card information. You may pay in cash or by check at our Circulation Desk.
What if I have unpaid overdue fines on my account from Morse Institute Library items that I returned in the past?
All outstanding overdue fines on Morse Institute Library items have been cleared from patron accounts as of August 31, 2021. If you have a question about any charges on your account, please email circulation@morseinstitute.org or call 508-647-1522.
What if materials don't come back?
We will continue to maintain our collection and replace lost items in accordance with our Collection Development Policy.
I don't mind paying fines, how can I help the library?
We have collection boxes at our circulation desks and are grateful to accept donations in lieu of fines. Donations can also be made online. These donations will continue to support library services and collections.
Do you have a question not answered here?
Please contact Director Miki Wolfe at mwolfe@minlib.net.
You can borrow up to 150 items with your library card. Due to demand, newly purchased feature films and TV series are limited to 4 per household. Speed View DVDs and video games are limited to 2 per household.
| Item Type | Loan Period | Renewals | Late Fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Audiobooks / Playaways | 3 weeks | 3 | |
| Books (fiction and nonfiction) | 3 weeks | 3 | |
| Books (high demand) | 2 weeks | 3 | |
| Books (Speed Reads) | 1 week | none | $1 per day / $10 max |
| Children’s Kits | 3 weeks | 3 | |
| Compact Discs | 3 weeks | 3 | |
| CD-ROMs | 3 weeks | 3 | |
| DVDs | 2 weeks | 3 New: none |
|
| DVDs (Speed Views) | 1 week | none | $1 per day / $10 max |
| Interlibrary Loan Materials | Varies by lending library | Varies by lending library | $2 per day / $20 max |
| Magazines | 1 week | 3 | |
| Museum Passes | 1 day | none | $3 per day / $12 max |
|
Video Games |
2 weeks | none | |
| Puzzles and Board Games | 3 weeks | none | |
| Commonwealth Catalog Items | 4 weeks | none | $2 per day / $20 max |